Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve had a wee project under my hat for a while now, and due to the combination of external forces (and a little internal inertia) I’ve only just now got around to presenting you with my first official tutorial!

This one was inspired by sartorial necessity…I have a bit of a jeans thing, in that my bifurcated wardrobe is almost entirely either leggings (for teaching) or denim (no stretch, definitely 100% cotton).

Unfortunately, due to frequent washing and hard service in crouching to attend to Dragon, my gaping flies were starting to become an embarrassment to my friends and family.

I considered trying to buy new jeans, but after a desultory look I ruled it out. The only thing was to change zips into the (obviously superior) buttons.

I don’t know if I should admit this, but it wasn’t as fiddly as I expected, and I’m really pleased at how the three pairs I adapted have come out.

This is a really good way of rescuing charity shop clothes, or saving your favourite but battered jeans from yet another denim quilt.

The full PDF is available on my website for free! It’s a large-ish file, but I wanted to make sure the photos were good enough that you could print them out (they work well in grayscale too, if you want to save ink).

I hope you enjoy it, and if you have a go, please let me know how you get on.