I find it really difficult to explain my relation with medicine. My whole life has been surrounded by medical people, discussions and knowledge. Those of my parents’ friends who weren’t doctors were involved in other aspects of medical research and I spent ages in hospitals in my jammies, collecting one parent, waiting for another one to finish something or going on holiday to academic meetings.

My dad is also very…hands on, so I was always encouraged to play with the stethoscope, otoscope, reflex hammer, scalpel or whatever I happened to find about the place.

So despite the stress of a short timescale, I’m really enjoying having a focused look at stuff I find quite familiar, as well as being able to learn things properly.

That said, I still struggle with the fact that your left lung is on the right. I mean honestly, as if left and right weren’t difficult enough!

