Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m not a huge fan of the news on television. I don’t know if it was my telly-less upbringing, or the inane whittering that seems to fill the endless gaps between stories, but I prefer my news written or on the radio.

But despite this, and possibly due to Batman’s ever increasing obsession with weather reports, every so often I see the news. Last night was one of those times, and it turned out to be worth it. There was a little story about the art of science featuring MRI scans which have been printed onto glass and the layers reconstructed.

The pieces discussed on the news are by Marilene Oliver, but there aren’t any good photos of the pieces. She does seem to have done some other rather interesting work, so go have a look.

Marilene Oliver photo- BBC Website

Marilene Oliver photo- BBC Website

So I did a little more googling and found Angela Palmer‘s work using MRI scans, which is equally stunning.

Angela Palmers Unravelled

Angela Palmer's Unravelled

Now this ticks all my boxes, it is medical, elegant and made of sheets of glass. There are lots of stunning photographs on her website, so please check it out.

Angela Palmers Unravelled

Angela Palmer's Unravelled

(Dad, when you read this… I have a great idea for a lamp…)

