Tags

, , ,

I managed to make some hamentashen on Wednesday. I tried mohn (poppy seed) filling, which I’d never tried before until Batman and I were in Eastern Europe and playing ‘guess the pastry filling’ over breakfast. It turns out that once you get past all the recipes with nuts or raisins in, it’s just poppy seeds, milk, sugar and butter (and vanilla or rum or lemon juice and zest depending on your tastes or the contents of your cupboard).

The only downside is that it makes absolutely heaps of filling, and since I can never seem to estimate how much filling I’ll need (very little), and I like putting jam in as well, I have quite a bit leftover.

But I still have some dough in the fridge, making hamentashen by yourself is quite tiring, so I’ll try to get a few more made on Thursday.

