Tags

, , , , ,

Always keen to span the edges of any spectrum I come across, I switched over Radio One to Radio Four on my way home last night and heard about a really intriguing project created by Eric Whitacre who is a composer and conductor.

His idea (which is explained on his blog if you follow the link above) was to have people record their individual parts by webcam and then combine the choir in the recording studio.

Apparently no one who auditioned was cut, and the people who auditioned would often say that it was their 20th attempt at the piece, so the standard was quite high.

Here’s a clip of the final piece, I really suggest you go on the blog itself to see the other videos and read more about it.

I really love the idea of using individual talents to create something larger, especially when most of the people involved will never see each other in real life.

