Tags

, , ,

For some reason, amuse reminded me of amuse-bouche which not only makes your mouth do entertaining Frenchy things when you say it, but is the name for infinitesimal and ridiculously over-presented food you get at posh restaurants.

 

Racer 5 Beer Bubble - from Cyrus in Healdsburg, California. Photo: Nick Peyton

 

Despite that fact that I don’t go for presentation all that much when I cook, I have to say I appreciate the idea of the amuse-bouche as a bit of an art form.

 

Cured-beet and scottish salmon napoleon - from Five Fifty-Five in Portland, Maine. Photo: Katie Selva

 

But I can’t stop thinking about how many people have had their fingers all over the impressive concoction.

 

Hot Potato, Cold Potato - from Chicago's Alinea. Photo: Lara Kastner

 

Part of me feels that I shouldn’t take longer to say the name of a dish than it does to eat it, but as long as it keeps the chefs amused…

Check out the rest of the amusing Weekworders on Junebug’s blog.

