Tags

, , , ,

John’s Weekword is sacred, or rather the word sacred is the Weekword that John chose…

In a fit of efficiency (corresponding to Dragon’s first full day at nursery) I said I’d be able to do it and now it’s 5pm on Friday and I have no picture, no ideas, nothing.

But I have been thinking about what makes everyday things sacred (apart from any religious rituals), and I think that those memories or sensations that are so intangibly magical that you want to create a ritual which would bring back that particular moment must count as sacred.

So my sacred moment for today is waking up from an unexpected nap in the late afternoon sun and finding that Dragon had left a perfect imprint of his ear in the crook of my arm.

I know there’s no way to capture or share it, but there will always be a still little moment in my memory for it.

