Tags

, , ,

In the spirit of doing things myself, I’ve been making granola for about a year.

The original recipe I had was a combination of several internet sources (heavily edited towards the nut-free bias in our family), and looks a little like this:

Granola

4 cups (a generous pound) of oats
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup golden syrup or honey
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
 

The recipe said to combine the dry ingredients and mix well. Then you combined the liquids, poured them over the dry ingredients and googie-d them around with your fingers.

This seemed like an awful faff to me, especially the measuring of oils and syrups and essences. Plus, it was very sweet, and I have a sneaking distrust of golden syrup (but I can’t articulate why). Honey tastes odd to me, so I didn’t want to use it exclusively.

What I wanted was something I could feel moderately good about eating every day (in terms of sugar and fat content) and that didn’t make me stick to the kitchen once a week (which is about how often we need to make it).

So I would like to unveil my new and modified granola recipe:

Modified Rapture Everyday Granola

4 cups oats
several good slugs of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, ginger or whatever comes to hand (I don’t recommend paprika)
a pinch of salt
1/2 cup of brown sugar or a mixture of brown, white and/or demerara sugars
1/4 cup water plus a bit of liquid sugar (maple syrup, honey etc)
a dash of vanilla
olive oil sufficient to grease a roasting tin generously

Season the oats to taste with spices and salt. Put sugar, water (optional liquid sugar) and vanilla in a pan and heat until syrupy. Grease roasting tin (don’t forget the sides), pour the oats in and add the sugar mixture. Googie them about until you get clusters sufficient to your requirements. Bake at 160 degrees C for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally to ensure even browning.

Allow to cool and add dried fruit of your choice. Serve, feeling virtuous.

 
