Tags

, , ,

I’m a bit late with this week’s word…but I managed to pour water on my laptop and Dragon has fallen off the same dining room chair five times this week so I feel moderately justified.

This is our snacks cupboard…it’s usually got breadsticks and sultanas and the odd piece of chocolate!

On the chocolate theme, here’s my new Passover recipe discovery – flourless chocolate cake.

I adapted it from the BBC Food website. I think it doesn’t really need the creme fraiche topping, but the fruit was nice and just a warning, it’s rather rich!

Impressively Decadent Flourless Chocolate Cake

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C. Grease a 9 inch springform tin and line the bottom with greaseproof paper.
 
300 g dark chocolate
225 g butter
6 eggs, separated
1 tablespoon ground coffee
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
225 g caster sugar
 
Separate eggs, set the whites aside with two teaspoons of the sugar. Combine the coffee, sugar, vanilla and the yolks and beat until well mixed. Melt the butter and chocolate and add to the yolk mixture.
 
Beat the egg whites until they form stiff peaks. Fold into the chocolate mixture.
 
Bake for 45-55 minutes until a skewer comes out clean. Allow to cool in the tin (it will fall impressively in the middle).
 
