Tags

, ,

I’m still a bit undecided about the backing for Dragon’s quilt.

One thing they tell you to be aware of when making quilts is the tonal value of the overall quilt. The easiest way to explain it is to take a photo of your fabrics in black and white and see what happens. (Here are two examples of other people’s quilts in colour and black and white.)

I’ve always struggled with the tonal values with this quilt, mainly because I bought the fabric on two different continents and really struggled to find fabrics that I liked. I don’t usually faff about with the black and white photos, but rely on my eye and instinct to sort it out for me.

But since I was swithering between two fabrics, I thought I’d show you what I’ve got so far.

I have to say I’m secretly a little thrilled at how spot-on my complete lack of tonal variation is. I bought some of these fabrics without having swatches with me and I had to reject a fabric that I panic bought against my better judgement on the strength of its tonal depth when I got home with it.

Here’s where I swither… do I carry on with the toneless-ness or do I introduce a little more contrast on the back?

In my head it was always going to be a very soft, subdued quilt so part of me thinks that the back should carry that on. On the other hand, the lighter gray is very close to the beige (unspotted corner pieces) and I don’t know how it’s going to read. (In fact I may need another post on the design for the back anyway.) Thoughts? Suggestions?

