Tags

, , ,

I have a new obsession…

As I finished my bottle of spray starch the other day, I was musing on the alternatives to yet another aerosol bottle of mystery ingredients.

So I had a wee search, and had to ask myself, “Is there nothing that can’t be done with cornflour?”

I wasn’t thrilled with the recipes I found online, and after all, what’s the point of buying vintage household management books if you go straight to Google for all your answers?

Ideal Home Library – Home Queries ?

It was a pretty good start, but for ease of use, here is my slightly adapted version:

Boiling Water Starch

1 tablespoon cornflour (because it’s all lace to me, darling)
1/2 teaspoon borax
3 tablespoons cold water
 
Mix into a smooth paste and add 1.136 litres (although precision is not crucial) boiling water, stirring constantly and then 525 ml (see note above) cold water.
 
I added 12 drops of rosemary essential oil because I am keeping the leftovers and I didn’t want it to go fusty on me.
 
It has since started to settle a little (but reconstitutes easily with a shake), from my reading online, I believe that if you boiled the starch mixture and boiling water, you would get less settling. If you try it, let me know.
 
Once finished, dip your damp laundry into the starch, give it a squeeze and hang until not-quite-dry. Iron with a hot iron (no steam) and marvel at the creaselessness!
 
 
 
On the left, ladies and gentlemen, is the pile of spray starched fabric awaiting designs, on the right are some finished pieces using my new recipe.
 
Begone spray starch!
