Tags

, , , ,

I have a feeling that there are going to be quite a few philosophical posts over the next few weeks…so readers of a delicate disposition, please look away now.

One of the things I want to work out is where I place my work in the craft-art continuum. (If that doesn’t make you want to run screaming now, I’m sure it soon will.) When I first started, I didn’t think it made a difference, but the more work I create the more it bothers me that I can’t seem to communicate what I want to when dealing with my work as craft. (The fact that I seem to sell better as craft, we’ll have to put to one side at the moment.)

My own definitions of art and craft have more to do with the intent of the work rather than the medium used. So if you make a scrapbook page which asks questions of the viewer about how they relate to the world, you’re making art. If you create a 15′ oil painting which is a beautiful representation of a scene, state of mind or tone poem but requires nothing but admiration from your viewer, then you’ve made craft.

Neither is better or worse or more or less worthy. It’s like pastry, if you put a top on, you have pie, if you leave the top off, it’s a tart; either way, I’d quite like a slice.

Saying that, I do find that I lean towards art. Maybe because I like to over-explain myself, or just because I had a really good time at art college, I find myself writing statements in my head or thinking of titles for pieces as I make them. But it dawned on me that I never tell anyone about what’s going on as I stitch and that perhaps it would be a good idea to share.

So watch this space…

