Tags

, , , ,

Much of the focus at the Folksy Summer School was on creating a coherent story of you and your work, finding a niche to occupy and telling your story honestly. It’s not a million miles away from the sort of thing I spent a lot of time doing at art college, so I was pretty comfortable with that bit. (Comfortable with the concept, I hasten to add. There has been no end of teenage whining, tears and fretful scribbling in the search for this coherent story and I’m not even close.)

Crumbs by Misericordia

…and then.

The word aspirational kept popping up. I am discovering that I’m intensely uncomfortable with the idea of embodying some kind of aspirational focus for other people. I’m not sure if I can articulate why this is, and I’m worried that if I did articulate it, the answer would be that I’m unnecessarily suspicious person when it comes to anything that touches on advertising (and/or just plain weird).

That’s not to say that I can’t see the point of creating a world that other people want to occupy. It’s just that I’m not entirely sure how I want them to occupy it. But I started thinking about points on the continuum between absolute honesty and absolute aspiration and I think I could fall somewhere between Alicia Paulson and Stephanie Pearl-McPhee. (Please note, they do not necessarily constitute the ends of the spectrum, but they’re about the ends of the ranges to which I think I can go.)

Blackberries

So there you are, a first step in trying to embrace the fact that there may be people who want to live a little more like the way they think they would if they had some of the experiences I have or have had. (I think I’m going to need your help, where do you stand on reading about aspiration vs. perspiration?)

Also, I’m going to be doing a lot of digital (and analogue) clearing out and rearranging, so I’ve put my shops on holiday and there will be new features and posting schedules appearing.

 

 

