Tags

, , , ,

I’m not a frequent user of strong language, preferring to save it for when it’s really necessary. (Let me state here, for the record that creative pesudo-swearing is of far higher quality in my adopted homeland. I’ll use sodding over fricking any day.)

Bollocks - Bespoke Roman monumental capitals carved in Welsh slate. by Seb Lester

Bollocks – Bespoke Roman monumental capitals carved in Welsh slate. by Seb Lester

However this particular piece of stone masonry tickled my fancy for a few reasons:

There’s a certain inherent and potential bollocks in any situation involving masonry and hammers that amuses me (too many New Yorker cartoons and silent films in my youth, perhaps).

I feel that there’s a kindred artistic spirit in the manufacturing of words that aren’t meant to last in a painstaking and monumental piece of work. It’s part of what I try to capture in my work, and it’s always nice to see how other people play with it.

And lastly, it’s a beautiful and complex object, both visually and tactilely. The various interpretations of the sentiment expressed juxtaposed with the baggage inherent in monumental stonework and the irrepressible urge to giggle inevitably and repeatedly are pretty much perfect.

Oh, and it’s for sale!

